Concept Development- Iteration No. 4

I have been at a loss with figuring out how to convert the concept of the multiple, complimenting aspects of art disciplines to create a live music performance. Although, after discussing with my tutor and from comments of classmates I have had an ephinany.

So, I have decided to use the image of the guitarist from Jackson Firebird as my main photo as it has a clear direction of audience gaze as it goes straight through the image. My tutor suggested perhaps use the side panel idea from my first iteration to display pictures of the items and technologies that are used to create a live music performance. Sticking to my original concept in adopting a vintage poster design to the image. This will give an aesthetic, surreal feeling to the image. Finally, I have come up with a quote aswell: ‘One Moment, Infinite Elements’ which I will also display on the picture.  The idea essentially is that there are multiple elements in creating the one moment of live music performance. Photography is a medium through which that moment can be preserved eternally.

I especially enjoy in this photo the many of the elements I have been exploring in my image development. It’s captured the energy of the lead guitarist, the backing drums in the background who’s expression shows the general feeling of the performance, the different lighting pushing the scene forward and puncture is clearly define allowing room for manipulation around the photo. There isn’t too much going on either so it won’t cause viewing fatigue and will hopefully present a clear and concise photo.Fourth Iteration

  1. Firstly I cropped the outline of the guitarist.Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 2.48.27 pm
  2. I then copy and pasted it.
  3. I selected a colour from the lighting in the background to fill colour the cut out.
  4. I then turned down the opacity to fine tune the cut out.Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 3.01.08 pm
  5. I then replicated the cut out three times – creating a colourful implication of motion blur- inspiration from my second iteration.
  6. I fill coloured the other cut outs with the other two lighting schemes in the background to continue the theme of the correlation of musicians performance with stage lighting design.  I also selected an overlay blend to fit the photo better and not look as awkward.
  7. I then set up three circle panels on to the left of the image.
  8. I then opened a new layer with one of the images I was going to display in the circles.
  9. I then utilised the magic wand to crop out the white back ground and moved it over the circle.Screen Shot 2017-10-08 at 6.08.44 pm
  10. I did this three times over for the other circles creating my final image.
  11. I also reduced the saturation of the lighting set, mix table and camera to make them stand out against the colourful background.

References:

Canon Australia. n.d, EOS 5DsR, viewed 8 October 2017, <https://www.canon.com.au/cameras/eos-5dsr>

StageSuperstore. n.d, Allen & Heath GL2400 4 Buss Live Sound Mixing Desk, viewed 8 October 2017, <https://www.stagesuperstore.co.uk/allen–heath-gl2400-4-buss-live-sound-mixing-desk-1190-p.asp>

Tidridge, M. n.d, 3D Stage Lights Turbo Squid, Pintrest, viewed 8 October 2017, <https://au.pinterest.com/pin/388154061612921217/>

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑